My Funny Domain Typo: Trademark Infringement?

Well, it’s Sunday, our day off. But as always, I have been hard at work. I went over to our family friend’s house today for the second time who I am going to sell auto parts for. I had what was one of my more embarrassing moments while at his house due to a small domain typo, which I think Craigslist should be notified of.

My original suggestion to my friend was to sell his auto parts on eBay. When he asked about Craigslist, we decided to check it out because I had never dealt with Craigslist, so I had no experience with it.

As I was typing in Craigslist.com, I typed in Craigslist.cm by accident. It redirected me to a website for funny and sexy videos. My friend turned to his computer and gave me a look and began laughing.

.CM is the TLD for Cameroon. I felt this was a form of trademark infringement or cybersquatting as this website is taking a common typo of the Craigslist domain name and redirecting it to their website for profit. I think I’ll shoot a quick email to Craigslist to inform them of this problem. I’d like to get your comments on this though, so make sure to comment below!

5 Responses to “My Funny Domain Typo: Trademark Infringement?”

  1. -
    -
    That is the only reason they bought .cm domains!
    The whole glt is stupid and will result in hundreds of thousands of lawsuits.
    They aren’t buying cars.cm to build a site, they want the typos as they park the page for a quick buck. Pure speculating, but what makes me mad is they are putting up sex sites which kids will no doubt run into.

  2. Allen says:

    this is common i think i misstyped a lot typos of craigslist and seen probably over 10 typos and think they are active. So it is nothing that would really suprise me because just use the typo tool at domaintools and you will see a lot of sites

  3. Paul says:

    Thanks for the new porn site :)

  4. Jamie says:

    I agree with you I think it is a trademark infringement.

  5. Ross says:

    I totally agree. My dad told me about this big deal with cameroon involving ICann. Only certain people are allowed to register .CM domain names, with the express permission of cameroon. It’s like drug lords running the governement, except nows its domainers running the government. The first site they did this with is Dell.cm . I wonder how that worked. Any research Mr. Admin>

Leave a Reply

SEO Powered by Platinum SEO from Techblissonline